FOI is led by a Board of Directors with full responsibility. The members of FOI's Board of Directors are assigned by decision of the Swedish Government.

FOI logo and Swedish flag

The constitution of the Board of Directors of FOI is as follows:


Björn von Sydow

Former Speaker of the Riksdag, former Minister for Defence and chair of the Defence Commission

Board of Directors

Jens Mattsson

Director General, FOI

Ella Carlsson Sjöberg

Ph. D.

Ulf Hammar­ström

Director General, Swedac

Taha Hirbod Alexandersson

Associate professor, National Board of Health and Welfare

Mats Leijon

Professor, Uppsala university

Ingela Mathiasson

Brigadier General

Employee representatives

Kristofer Hallgren

Saco-S trade union

Eva Larsson

OFR/ST trade union

Last updated: 2023-01-11